Email the Attorney:
Note that driving on a suspended license, if convicted, is subject to a maximum of 6 months in jail, about $4000 in fines and fees. There is no minimum jail for a first offense, but there is a minimum of about $1400 in fines and fees. It is also priorable, meaning if you have had a similar charge before then you will might be subject to a minimum of 5 days in jail and about $2000 in fines and fees. In addition, CVC § 14601.1 is subject to 2 DMV points. If you are convicted of both 22348(b) and 14601.1(a), then your license could be suspended for an entire year. This would be due to having 4 DMV points within 12 months. This is a hypothetical but very possible situation, a domino effect of driving on a 30 day suspension.
Getting back to the discussion of the initially being cited for high speed... sometimes you might be stopped for going over 100+ but the officer might cut you a break. They sometimes do this by citing someone for a lesser charge even if they caught someone going over 100 miles per hour. However, if they are going to do this, they usually write the ticket for 100 or 99 or 95 and cite it as 22349(a), exceeding 65 mph. CVC § 22349 is only subject to one point, and half the fine. Your license could still be suspended by a judge, but for a shorter period of time, like 10 or 15 days, if at all. For example, there is a judge in Orange County, specifically in Central Justice Center Traffic Court, that suspends drivers licenses for speeds as low as 85 mph in a 65 mph zone. Yes, as these freeway speeds, there is a risk of a drivers license suspension.
(If you hire an attorney, there are different ways they can protect your rights and driving privilege. I have had great success at the North Justice Center and the West Justice Center, both in Orange County, with these types of cases, from dismissals at arraignment, dismissals at the trial hearing, and reductions for lesser consequences. I have also had dismissals at the first hearings based on officer errors in Bellflower Courthouse in Los Angeles County Superior Court. I have observed many pro pers – defendant representing them self – fight this charge. However, I have never seen them achieve these greater results.)
Speeding Greater Than 100 MPH
California Vehicle Code section 22348(b)
Being charged in Los Angeles County with speeding over 100 mph can result in high fines, drivers license suspension, and two DMV points.
If you were charged with 22348(b), Speeding Over 100 MPH, the fine is $200 plus penalty assessments, which is $900 total.
However, the most significant concern is being hit with the two negligent operator points on your DMV record. Unlike a regular speeding ticket, 22348(b) of the Vehicle Code results in two points on your driving record for seven years. The DMV's general policy for two-point violations is that they stay on your record for 7 or 10 years. This can really do damage to your insurance, not just because of the points but also because of the way you get the points, for high speed.
This is not all, however. Another damaging issue is that your driver’s license can be suspended for 30 days by the court. If you continue to drive despite having a suspended license, and are pulled over by police, they will cite you for driving on a suspended license, California Vehicle Code section 14601.1(a). This can result in being arrested and your car being impounded. Driving on a suspended license is most often issued as a misdemeanor, a criminal charge. When pulled over, your car could be towed an impounded, the officer might physically take your license away, if you still have it, and could arrest you and put you jail.
Speeding Greater Than 100 MPH
DISCLAIMER: Using this website does NOT create an attorney-client relationship. Any information herein is not for any specific legal matter and is general in nature. We are NOT LIABLE for any use of any information hearin.
Law Office of David Dastrup, TrafficCriminalAttorney.com © 2016 All Rights Reserved.